Filed under: DUI

Arizona DUI Law in Full

by admin on Nov 4th, 2010

Tags
  • No Tags
Share Comments (1)

Drunk Driving Fines and Penalties in Arizona

1st Arizona DUI Offense

First Drunk Driving Conviction

  • DUI Base Fine = $250
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge = $200
  • Probation Surcharge = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment = $500
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $500
  • Jail – Minimum 24 Hours up to 10 Days
  • License Suspension – From 90-360 Days
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court May Order Installation of Ignition Interlock Device at the expense of the Convicted DUI Offender.

2nd Arizona DUI Offense

Second Drunk Driving Conviction

  • DUI Base Fine = $500
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge= $400
  • Probation Surcharge = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment = $1,250
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $1,250
  • Jail – Minimum 30 Days up to 90 Days
  • Community Restitution – Minimum 30 Days
  • License Suspension – One Year
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court Ordered Ignition Interlock Device
  • Complete Alcohol or Other Drug Screening, Education or Treatment Program

Third Arizona DUI Offense

3rd Drunk Driving Conviction

Aggravated DUI if Within 84 Months of Previous DUI

  • DUI Base Fine = $750
  • Arizona DUI Surcharge = $600
  • Probation Surcharge  = $10
  • Prison Construction Assessment =  $1,500
  • Arizona Xtra DUI Assessment = $1,500
  • DUI Abatement Fee = $250
  • Jail – Minimum 4 Months
  • License Suspension – One Year
  • Ignition Interlock Device – Court Ordered Ignition Interlock Device
  • Complete Alcohol or Other Drug Screening, Education or Treatment Program

The Arizona Extreme DUI

In Arizona there are specific laws and penalties for people who fall under the category of “Extreme DUI”. A person is said to be an Extreme DUI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.15 or higher within two hours of driving or being in actual control of a vehicle. A person convicted of Extreme DUI is convicted of a criminal misdemeanor.

Extreme Drunk Driving Convictions in Arizona

First Extreme DUI Conviction

$900 fine ($500 + 80% surcharge) PLUS another $250 for a “DUI Assessment” PLUS $1250 extreme DUI assessment. Your drivers license will be revoked for 1 year. You will also have to install (at your expense) a interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles. The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol.

Second Extreme DUI Conviction(Within 5 years of the first)

$450 fine ($250 + 80% surcharge) PLUS another $250 for a “DUI Assessment” PLUS $1000 extreme DUI assessment. Your drivers license will be suspended from 90 days to 1 year. You will also have to install (at your expense) a interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles. The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol.

Arizona DUI / DWI laws extend to Vehicles, Watercraft or Aircraft.

Drinking and Driving Laws in Arizona

The State of Arizona has a drunk driving law that prohibits a person from driving when they have a concentration of .08 percent or more alcohol in their blood system. The measurement of 0.08 percent Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is the standard measurement used by all states in America. Studies have determined that a BAC level of 0.05 Percent leaves most drivers “Impaired”, therefore the 0.08 percent measurement has been calculated as the standard measurement for a DUI conviction in the United States. If you are convicted of a drunk driving offense in the State of Arizona you face many penalties such as jail time, fines and Arizona SR22 insurance requirements.

How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Arizona?

There isn’t a right answer to this question, each individual has unique characteristics that determine a BAC score. One drink can be considered 1 12-oz beer, 1 3oz glass of wine or 1-Shot or 1-oz of hard liquor. In fact it takes very little alcohol to become legally drunk and many variables such as weight, gender and body fat percentage can all be factors in the equation. The best answer is to have zero drinks before you drive. If you want to read more about the topic please see the Drink and Weight Table or check out our BAC Calculator.

With a second conviction of a DUI in Arizona you will receive a $900 fine ($500 + 80% surcharge) PLUS another $1,250 for your 2nd DUI Assessment and up to 90 days in jail. Drivers license will be revoked for one year. You will also have to install (at your expense) a interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles.

The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol. For a $1350 fine ($750 + 80% surcharge) PLUS a $250 DUI assessment PLUS a $1500 aggravated DUI assessment. A third drunk driving conviction within 60 month of the first two DUI’s is considered an “aggravated DUI” in Arizona.

The violation of the aggravated DUI law is a felony punishable by 4 months in prison plus mandatory drug and alcohol screening. Mandatory attendance for counseling. Your driver’s license will be revoked for 3 years and you will also have to install (at your expense) a interlock ignition device in all of your vehicles. The vehicle will not start unless you blow into the device and prove that you have not consumed any alcohol. Your car may be forfeited to the state and sold (The money goes to the state).

DUI: What is illegal in Arizona?

The State of Arizona law prohibits driving under any of the following circumstances:

  • Any combination of liquor, drugs or vapor releasing substances if the person is impaired to the slightest degree.
  • An Alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more within 2 hours of driving.
  • If the Vehicle is a Commercial motor vehicle that requires a commercial drivers license and the operator has an alcohol concentration of 0.04 or above.
  • For a driver under the age of 21 years to operate or be in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while there is any spirituous liquor in the driver’s body.
  • A person driving with any illegal drug or the metabolite of any illegal drug in their body.

As you can read above, in the State of Arizona has drunk driving laws for adults and drivers under the age of 21. If you are a commercial driver the allowed concentration of alcohol is reduced to .04 percent or above. Like many other states, being convicted of a DUI in Arizona is a Misdemeanor Criminal Conviction.

Arizona SR-22 Insurance Requirements

An Arizona SR-22 form is proof of financial responsibility. In Arizona, if your driver’s license is suspended for a drunk driving offense, you will be required to obtain Arizona SR22 insurance to have your drivers license reinstated. In Arizona, you are required to carry SR22 insurance for 3 years from the date of suspension.

State of Arizona Website - Arizona SR-22 Insurance Requirements

State of Arizona Website - Drunk Driving Laws in Arizona

State of Arizona Website - More Arizona DUI Law Information

Related Articles
Leave a Comment »1 Comment
Recent DUI Case Results
ChargesResults
  • Super Extreme DUIDismissed
  • DUI, BAC 0.107Not Guilty, Jury Trial.
  • Extreme DUI, BAC 0.237Not Guilty, Extreme DUI, Jury Trial
  • DUI, BAC 0.149Dismissed with Prejudice.
  • DUI, BAC 0.13Dismissed
  • Extreme DUI, BAC 0.203Not Guilty, Jury Trial
  • Extreme DUI, BAC 0.20Not Guilty. Extreme DUI, Jury Trial
  • Felony DUINot Guilty. Felony DUI, Jury Trial
  • DUI BAC .085Not Guilty. Bench Trial
  • DUI, DrugsReduced to reckless driving
  • DUI, BAC 0.120Reduced to reckless driving
  • Extreme DUI, BAC 0.167Dismissed with Prejudice
  • Super Extreme DUI, BAC 0.223Super Extreme and Extreme Charges Dismissed
Contact Us

CALL 602.254.5058

for a consultation or use the
Contact Us Form Here
Popular

Phoenix Hotels and Resorts

  • member of the Arizona State Bar
  • Arizona Attorneys for Criminal Justice
  • NCDD National College for DUI Defense: Chad Pajerski
  • United States Supreme Court Bar Member